WHY do Hills keep calling me?

It is just an after thought. I have been traveling for the last 20 years now and I have traversed varied landscapes including mountains, deserts, cities, villages, pilgrimage, plateaus, forests, river beds, beaches and ravines. Today, when I look back, the astonishing fact that emerges is that I have explored all these places, other than hills, only when I was visiting my friends or relatives, luckily I have many of them, and sight seeing was a convenient getaway from their places of residence. Other than that, all my trips have been to the hills, primarily Himalayas.

1

The Hills

I always travel in the company of my family or friends. After some of the arduous itineraries I even promised my companion/s that I wonโ€™t be repeating the journey to the mountains at least for a while but whenever I had sat down to plan the next outing, rest assured the destination always had been HILLS. What is in those hills that fascinate me no end?

The Might: As I sit back and ponder, the first reason that comes to my mind is the apparent might of the Himalayas. As one ventures couple of hundred miles or more into the hills and the greens turn into grey then black and finally white. The road ascends beyond 2500 mts and more and loses its bind of mortar and you find less number of fellow travelers on them. The sound of the gushing water of the river along side the road or trail, if you are on foot, becomes deafening and the weather conditions become more and more unpredictable. The brightness is lost in the shadows of the high lofts of hills that are around you and you can see sun or clear sky only when you strain your neck up. All this and other such factors instill in you a sense of fear and this fear in self is what that I long for.

2

The might

Many do not undertake such trips and treks just because they never had such an experience or they know it but do not want to experience it. I have experienced it but the question is why I wish to undergo it again and again.

The might factor is not so dominant just because of its physical impacts only it has some psychological impacts too. The fear in you makes you realize yourself. Ever thought why we have temples of different religions at such heights? If we ignore the accessibility factor that has increased manifold in recent years, the risks involved in reaching them are still aplenty. They are not there so that less number of pilgrims visits them but it is because of the self recognition of the individual.

4.jpg

The Majesty

Self recognition means being with self. Oneโ€™s mind is everywhere, in the job, in the family, in the social networking and in daily chores. It is in the state of extreme chaos in normal daily schedule. The fear of extreme weather conditions, the landslides and the other mishaps one is reminded of through various past incidents brings an individual closer to the self.

3.jpg

Don’t Look Back! Give it a try

I can assure you from my past experiences of high altitude treks, that whosoever explores the difficult terrains and conditions of hills has high regards for nature. This respect for nature originates from that fear, I have talked about earlier. Do not misinterpret the fear with its negative form. Just give a thought and if you have not experienced it yet, go and do it NOW!!!!

20 Comments

  1. Loved reading this one! Yes, Himalayas have a mysterious element which makes you..
    Go back! In all my treks in this region, I could feel this mysterious power at work! Thanks for sharing your views!

    Reply

  2. My Dear Umesh, Noticed Your kind Like of Yours to my post, and am visiting You. Yes, Travel, is Interesting and even Needed. Happy that You get the chance to visit so many places.

    Me, I like to Fight for those who made those roads at the edge of nothing, working for scraps. And those who run the tea stalls, earning a few hundred rupees a day to feed their families. And things like that. I get a LOT of satisfaction in my Fight, though it is Mostly a Lone one, and Very Unrewarding! Join me in this Fight! Regards. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. There is something magnetic about t he mountains. Is it the fear? Or is it the primal instinct, of being in awe of nature, of being with oneself and the open vistas… Cities do tend to suffocate our souls.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

